Penn Yan is an incorporated village in Yates
County, New York, USA. The population was 5,159
at the 2010 census. It is the county seat of Yates
County and lies at the north end of the east branch
of Keuka Lake, one of the Finger Lakes. The name
"Penn Yan" is a syllabic abbreviation of
"Pennsylvania Yankee".
The Village of Brookville is a village located within
the town of Oyster Bay in Nassau County, New
York. As of the 2010 United States Census, the
village population was 3,465.
Niagara is a town in Niagara County, New York,
United States. As of the 2010 census, the town had
a total population of 8,378. The town is named
after the famous waterfall Niagara Falls. The Town
of Niagara is the neighbor to the City of Niagara
Falls, which actually adjoins the famed Niagara Falls
The median household income for the city of Troy
was $36,514, and the median family income was
$38,631. The per capita income for the city was
$$21,663. About 26.3% of the population were
below the poverty line.
Jamaica is a neighborhood in the New York City
borough of Queens. It was settled under Dutch rule
in 1656 in New Netherland as Rustdorp. Under
British rule, the Village of Jamaica became the
center of the "Town of Jamaica".
Plattsburgh is a city in and county seat of Clinton
County, New York, United States. The population
was 19,989 at the 2010 census. The population of
the unincorporated areas within the Town of
Plattsburgh was 11,870 as of the 2010 census;
making the population for the immediate
Plattsburgh, New York Region 31,859.
Albany has been a center of higher education for
over a century, with much of the remainder of its
economy dependent on state government and
health care services. The city has experienced a
rebound from the urban decline of the 1970s and
1980s, with noticeable development happening in
the city's downtown and midtown neighborhoods.
North Carolina
Boone is a town located in the Blue Ridge
Mountains of western North Carolina, United States.
Boone's population was 17,122 in 2010. Boone is
the county seat of Watauga County and the home
of Appalachian State University. The town is named
for famous American pioneer and explorer Daniel
Boone, and every summer since 1952 has hosted
an outdoor amphitheatre portrayal of the life and
times of its namesake.
Fayetteville is a city in Cumberland County, North
Carolina, United States. It is the county seat of
Cumberland County, and is best known as the
home of Fort Bragg, a major U.S. Army installation
northwest of the city.  Fayetteville has received the
prestigious All-America City Award from the National
Civic League three times. According to the 2011
United States Census estimate, the city has a
population of 205,678. It currently ranks as the
sixth-largest municipality in North Carolina.
Greenville is the county seat of Pitt County,
principal city of the Greenville metropolitan area,
and the 10th largest city in the state of North
Carolina. Greenville is the health, entertainment,
and educational hub of North Carolina's Tidewater
and Coastal Plain. The city's official population as of
the 2011 United States census estimate is 86,017
residents while the Greenville Metropolitan Area
includes 192,690 people.
Durham is a city in the U.S. state of North Carolina.
It is the county seat of Durham County, though
portions also extend into Wake County in the east
and Orange County in the west. It is the
fourth-largest city in the state, and the
85th-largest in the United States by population,
with 233,252 residents as of the 2011 United
States census.
Charlotte is the largest city in the state of North
Carolina and the seat of Mecklenburg County. In
2012, the estimated population of Charlotte
according to the U.S. Census Bureau was 775,202,
making it the 17th largest city in the United States
based on population. The Charlotte metropolitan
area ranks 23rd largest in the US and had a 2012
population of 2,296,569.
Greensboro is the third-largest city by population
in North Carolina and the largest city in Guilford
County and the surrounding Piedmont Triad
metropolitan region. According to the 2012 U.S.
Census Estimate, Greensboro's population is
North Dakota
Minot is a city located in north central North
Dakota. It is most widely known for the Air Force
base located approximately 15 miles north of the
city. With a population of 40,888 at the 2010
census, Minot is the fourth largest city in the state.
Fargo is the largest city in the state of North
Dakota, accounting for nearly 16% of the state
population. Fargo is also the county seat of Cass
County. According to the 2010 census, its
population was 105,549.
Grand Forks is the third-largest city in the state of
North Dakota (after Fargo and Bismarck) and the
county seat of Grand Forks County. According to
the 2010 census, the city's population was 52,838,
while that of the city and surrounding metropolitan
area was 98,461.
New York
Buffalo is the second most populous city in the
state of New York, after New York City. Located in
Western New York on the eastern shores of Lake
Erie and at the head of the Niagara River across
from Fort Erie.  Buffalo itself has a population of
261,310 (2010 Census) and the Buffalo–Niagara–
Cattaraugus Combined Statistical Area is home to
1,215,826 residents.
At the 2010 Census, the city of Buffalo's
population was 50.4% White (45.8% non-Hispanic
White alone), 38.6% Black or African American,
0.8% American Indian and Alaska Native, 3.2%
Asian, 3.9% from some other race and 3.1% from
two or more races. 10.5% of the total population
was Hispanic or Latino of any race.
Albany is the capital city of the U.S. state of New
York, the seat of Albany County, and the central
city of New York's Capital District. Roughly 135
miles north of the City of New York, Albany sits on
the west bank of the Hudson River, about 10 miles
south of its confluence with the Mohawk River. The
population of the city was 97,856 at the time of the
2010 census.
New York is the most populous city in the United
States and the center of the New York Metropolitan
Area, one of the most populous urban
agglomerations in the world. The city is referred to
as New York City or the City of New York to
distinguish it from the State of New York, of which
it is a part. A global power city, New York exerts a
significant impact upon commerce, finance, media,
art, fashion, research, technology, education, and
Page 6 of 8
Page 6 of 8
Copyright © 2021  Barry M. Baker  
New Mexico
New Hampshire
New Jersey
Rhode Island
South Carolina
South Dakota
West Virginia
Washington, D.C.
Las Cruces, also known as "The City of the
Crosses", is the county seat of Doña Ana County,
New Mexico, United States. The population was
97,618 in 2010 according to the 2010 Census,
making it the second largest city in the state.
New Mexico
New York
North Carolina
North Dakota
Criminal Justice
Becoming a Police Officer
An Insider's Guide to a Career
in Law Enforcement